Skip to content

Preparation meets opportunity

September 12, 2010

Years ago, I went on a drive with my vivacious Grandma.  I had lived with her for a few years and this was not an uncommon practice.

We slowly drove  around our neighborhood in her baby blue Crown Victoria and paused if a neighbor was outside.    “Hello oh, ahem, HELLO!”

Once she had their attention, Grandma would talk about the beautiful day and their flowers and darling children.  Oh and she made sure to mention her lovely grand daughter in the car if they had a “single” son or grandson.   It was painfully embarrassing  but ahh… good times. (I was so lucky to have a grandmother who loved her kin.  Really, she always told us how beautiful and talented and sweet we all were… even if it was a stretch.)

On this particular visit around Gilbert’s finest neighborhood, (at the time),  grandma slammed on her brakes in the middle of the street.

I thought, ” What in the Sam Hell?”  (Why Sam?  I am not sure, that’s just the way I was taught to cuss.)

“Gold”,  Grandma said.

“What?”

She popped open the trunk and rushed out of the car, her eyes twinkling and anxious.  I wasn’t sure what was going on until I saw her come around the front of the car with a shovel.    Right there in her matching Moo Moo and Birkenstocks, dripping in diamond and gold jewelry, my grandma started scooping horse poopie into a plastic bag.

“Gold” for her roses.

Amen.

Remind me later to tell you about how she went from being a wildly adoring, (perhaps a smidgen annoying), fan of  Mr. Danny Ainge’s to well loved friend.

One word.   Persistence.

Well, I may have given away the story.  I guess I won’t tell it later….

One Comment leave one →
  1. Melody permalink
    January 24, 2011 3:25 pm

    I remember your cute grandma– she was such a character! I loved this story and would love to hear the one about her befriending Danny Ainge. I bet it’s awesome!

Leave a Reply

