Skip to content

Make new friends but keep the old…

September 26, 2010

El Charro rocks.

Don’t worry about the shabby furniture or the dark dreary decor.

Forget about the grouchy waitresses/servers,  (excluding Collette and the extra tall guy).

If you sit by the vent every time, just be glad your cold instead of hot.

Yeah,  they might not have the crabby shrimp burritos or Mango salsa like Gecko…

But where else can you get a great authentic tortilla and beans on this side of the border? (And speaking of which, who ever wants to cross the border?  Not I.)

My family has been going there since my Dad was a boy.  When I was a kid, grandma would tell us all about the art they had hanging on the wall and how we were related by some cousin once removed to the artist.

Anyway, I love it there.

It’s not just nostalgia;  It’s the cheese crisp and hot sauce.

Funny how I keep accidentally referencing gold eh?  You know the saying right?

‘ Make new friends but keep the old.  One is silver, the other gold.’

My first “real” boss, Gary, would always say that to me.  Do you think we have stayed in contact?  Nope.  Not really.  I better send him a Christmas card.

(At this point, I will give a shout out to my faithful readers, Billy and his lovely wife Mar.  Hello and thank you.   Don’t worry, one day you won’t be the only people reading.  In fact, just the other day, Buck decided to read a little.  See?  You are in good company.  I may even tell my friends about this blog once I have a few dozen more posts.  It’s really for our children anyway right?)

Post edit:  A special thank to Brittany and Benton as well.  They are also devoted readers they tell me.  I most certainly am thrilled to have a readership of 5.  Hee hee.  Love ya.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Bert & Benton permalink
    September 26, 2010 8:07 pm

    hey, we’ve been reading since the get go too! 🙂
    Benton appreciates your post on el charro, I sadly, don’t think I’ll ever be a real fan which is kinda funny considering the restaurant my family grew up on and still visits regularly, Jordan’s, is essentially the same, old-style mexican, thing. Funny how you learn to love the stuff you are raised on, even if its something you’d easily pass up today.

    • September 26, 2010 8:13 pm

      Thanks for reading Brittany. How are you guys? When are you available to come visit for an FHE and dinner?

      Love ya, Char.

  2. September 26, 2010 9:10 pm

    Ahhhhhhhh, El Charro! How we LOVE thee 🙂 My Dad used to live around the corner from the resturant. So every Sunday after Sacrament they would eat lunch there, LOL. Oh have times have changed. When are we all doing lunch or dinner there next!? We need to 🙂 LV – Mar

  3. September 27, 2010 4:48 am

    Hello… You are totally in my google reader…. Every post shows up and I am sure to not miss a single one! 🙂 So it is at least a readership of 6.

  4. Jessi permalink
    September 28, 2010 2:18 am

    Hey, I’m a reader too. Now you have all you’ll ever need. Ha ha ha.

  5. September 28, 2010 2:55 am

    I love the memories of El Charro… what about the time that Dad told us kids that if one of us could guess the bill he would give us $50. Well, with some simple math and taking into account the Mesa sales tax Chad guessed the bill to the penny. Dad never did pay the $50.

Leave a Reply

